A New Start

wpid-img_20130219_054727

“Decoding the Right Brain” Acrylic on 20×20 (8’x8′) canvas

After about 20 years of not touching any canvases, brushes, paints, pencils, etc., and my mom continuously urging me to “use the talent that God has given you!”, I joyfully gave in. I bought all the basic materials I needed, but the result sure didn’t come instantaneously!

The blank canvas, artist block. I stared at it, uninspired, fearful, unsure. (I must have looked terribly funny to my five year old, who, at this stage, was already producing two paintings…) I simply did not know how to begin!

Frustrated, I turned to Google, and came across “Art is Fun” website. There was a page dedicated to “how to paint abstract art” where the artist, Thaneeya, laid out the step-by-step process of painting her work. And so, here it is.

Leave a Reply

