Doodling, inspired by Zentangle

I recently discovered a new drawing/doodling trend, called Zentangle. According to the creators and founders: “Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, relaxing, and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns.”

I’ve only researched online what this is all about, and put it in practice here with materials that I already have in my drawers.

Doodle1
Pencil on paper

In doing the real Zentagle, users are guided by a number of already created patterns, although one’s own creation is also encouraged. Artwork is confined on a 4.5″ x 4.5″ paper, and one can use either a pencil or pen. The official Zentangle website packs in all the information there is.

Doodling, inspired by Zentangle
Pencil on paper

I can see how this form of artwork would be highly rewarding for those who are new to drawing. One will be focused on getting the structure right, putting pieces by pieces together, to create a finished product. And the finished product is guaranteed to be satisfying.

To me, this is a new way to doodle. Another great way to express the structures and patterns I see in my head.

 

Leave a Reply

