Just a Doodle

Just a Doodle

I felt…experimental tonight.
But instead of canvas and paint, I put Fresh Paint to work.
First the oil paint, and the expressive brush stroke.
Then pencil doodle, without lifting my finger off the touchscreen.

What do you see?

9 comments on “Just a Doodle

  1. What is your experience with Fresh Paint, compared to the real thing? Could such software become a medium for the serious artist? This picture does not look so bad. Of course, it depends on who is using it. Just like with web design or photography, you can see a lot of mediocre stuff because people have no idea about graphics design or art and this might be happening with this program as well. I would like to know what masters of painting can do with such a program and how they would compare it to other media (like real oil on canvas).
    I find the approach to the development of Fresh Paint a bit conservative, however. They designed a physical model of how oil paint behaves. I think it should be possible to develop “simulated paints” or whatever that behave different, creating a new medium that will enable the artist to do things not easily possible with paint. And I would like such software to come from open domain programmers, not monopolist companies.
    To your question what I see here, my first association was: two people in a garden chatting, filling the air with chit-chat ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Wow! I must say, great questions you’ve posted there. Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll try my best to answer them, but be warned, it will be rather subjective, i.e. may not be representative of all artists in general. And thank you for sharing your thought of what the picture illustrates.

      Will I use FreshPaint as my main medium to express my creativity? No. Painting software such as this is fun to use for quick doodle. Further, it is worth a try to expand one’s knowledge which can be enriching to her/his experience. But as I love experimenting, e.g. with textures, mixing different mediums, etc., software such as FreshPaint has its limitation. Can’t create bumpy painting with it, for example.

      Now, can the finished products ever be compared to the work from masters such as Rembrandt or Picasso? Maybe. Maybe (better) not: one is meant to never compare one’s works with other artists ๐Ÿ™‚ However, as it is an alternative method to express one’s creativity, by all means, explore! And invent a new “grand master digital painter” title ๐Ÿ™‚

      FreshPaint, or similar, as part of GNU Project – I say ‘AYE’!!!!

      Hope my answer helps…feel free to respond back if it is not satisfying (for both yourself, Andreas, or your alter ego, Tsish ๐Ÿ™‚ )

      • Thank you for the interesting answer!
        I am not a painter myself, just interested. I am studying philosophy at the moment and I have a degree in computer science, and I am interested in aesthetics, so I am curious about what artists think about such programs.
        Personally, I think that reality always has more properties than our theories about it describe, so if you use a simulation, something is inevitably lost, some random and surprise element. The theories are always incomplete. We will see what role such software is going to play in the future.

      • You mean, Theory of Everything doesn’t work? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m with you on the count of reality and theories. Good luck with your studies!

      • I think that theories of human cognition and culture are incomplete in principle (i.e. we are creative, meaning we can step out of the scope of applicability of each formal theory describing us). I have written something on the topic in my blogs.
        With regard to physics, I think practical theories will always be incomplete. The Theory of Everything, if one is ever found, will be too unhandy for most practical purposes. But I also see the possibility that a Theory of Everything as an implicit theory could work, i.e. a set of equations, but would be computationally incomplete. The problem would be solving the equations. That requires methods of calculation and these might always remain incomplete, i.e. there might be cases where you have to add another calculation method.
        Sorry, this went off topic now ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

